What is reckless driving, according to Texas law?

Answer:

According to the Texas Transportation Code, reckless driving consists of operating a vehicle with willful or wanton disregard for the safety of others or personal property. Reckless driving has more serious consequences than a simple moving violation and traffic ticket – it is a misdemeanor offense that comes with fines up to $200, possible license suspension, and up to 30 days in jail.
How is “willful or wanton disregard for safety” defined? Generally, reckless driving is when a driver intentionally or deliberately puts others in danger without provocation. Reckless driving offenses often involve breaking more than one traffic law. Some examples of reckless driving include driving significantly over the speed limit, weaving in and out of traffic, ignoring multiple traffic signs and stop lights, or street racing. Reckless driving is not a felony, but a reckless driver could face felony charges if his or her driving caused an accident involving serious injury or death.
Have you been injured in an accident that you believe involved reckless driving? Speak with a Dallas-Fort Worth car accident attorney at Rasansky Law Firm about your case. Our lawyers can help you understand who was at fault for your accident and whether you may deserve compensation.

Search

OUR DALLAS LOCATION

2525 McKinnon Street #550 Dallas, Texas 75201

Note: The information that was utilized in this post was gathered from the use of secondary sources. This information used has not been confirmed or independently verified. If you locate any information that is not correct, please contact our firm as soon as possible so that we can make the appropriate corrections. If you find any information that is false, we will remove or correct the post immediately after it is brought to our attention.

Disclaimer: As a valued member of the Dallas community, Rasansky Law Firm’s goal is to improve the safety of all residents in the great state of Texas. These posts should not be viewed as a solicitation for business and the information included herein should not be taken as medical or legal advice. The photos used in this post are not representative of the actual crash scene.

Related Post

September 2, 2017
What are the laws regarding texting and cell phone use while driving in Texas?

Answer: As of September 1st, 2017, texting and driving within the state of Texas is officially illegal. The offense is punishable by a fine of $25-99 for first-time offenders, and $100-200 for repeat […]

Read More
November 4, 2016
What is proximate cause?

  Answer: Proximate cause can be defined as an act from which an injury results as a natural, direct, uninterrupted consequence, and without which, the injury would not have occurred. It may not […]

Read More
November 4, 2016
What’s the difference between an accident and a crash?

Answer: Generally speaking, the term “accident” refers to an unintentional collision. At the same time, many people feel as though referring to collisions as “accidents” implies that no one was at-fault, and/or works to […]

Read More

Why Choose
Rasansky Law Firm

Over 30+ Years Of Personal Injury Experience

Top-Rated and Award-Winning Personal Injury Lawyers

Attorneys Available to Discuss Your Case Now

No Fee Unless You Win

Free Confidential Consultation.

Request A Free Consultation

Fill out the form below to receive a free and confidential initial consultation with an experienced personal injury lawyer.

chevron-down